Archive an extended datastore for read-only access

By disconnecting an active datastore from a Discover appliance, you can create a read-only archive of the stored metrics data. Any number of Discover appliances can read from an archived datastore.

  1. Log into the Admin UI on your Discover appliance.
  2. In the System Configuration section, click Datastore and Customizations.
  3. In the Extended Datastore Settings section, click Configure Extended Datastore.
  4. Click the name of the mount that contains the datastore you want to archive.
  5. In the row of that datastore, click Disconnect Extended Datastore.
  6. Type YES to confirm and then click OK.
The datastore is disconnected from the appliance and marked for read-only access.

Connect your Discover appliances to the archived datastore

Warning:To connect to an archived datastore, a Discover appliance must scan through the data contained in the datastore. Depending on the amount of data stored in the archived datastore, connecting to the archived datastore might take a long time. While the appliance is connecting to the archived datastore, the appliance does not collect data and system performance is degraded. The connection process takes more time under the following circumstances:
  • If there is a large amount of data in the datastore
  • If the network connection to the NAS device hosting the datastore is slow
  • If the read performance of the NAS device hosting the datastore is slow
  1. In the System Configuration, click Datastore and Customizations.
  2. In the Extended Datastore Settings section, click Configure Extended Datastore.
  3. Click the name of the mount that contains the archived datastore.
  4. In the Datastore Directory field, type the path of the archived datastore directory.
  5. Click Archive (Read Only).
  6. Click Configure.
Your extended database is now a read-only archive that can be accessed by multiple Discover appliances.
Published 2017-12-11 19:17