Share a dashboard

By default, all custom dashboards you create are private, which means that no ExtraHop users can view or edit your dashboard. However, you can share your dashboard by granting view or edit access to other ExtraHop users and groups.

Here are some importance considerations about sharing dashboards:

  • How a user interacts with a shared dashboard and the information they can view in the ExtraHop system is determined by user privileges, which are assigned by the ExtraHop administrator. For example, you can add a user with the Restricted read-only privilege, which allows that user to only view the dashboards that you share with them in the ExtraHop system. For more information, see the User privileges section in the ExtraHop Admin UI Guide.
  • When you grant a user edit access, that user can modify and share the dashboard with others. However, other users cannot delete the dashboard. Only the dashboard owner can delete a dashboard.
  • Group information is imported into the ExtraHop system from LDAP (such as OpenLDAP or Active Directory). User information is available after an ExtraHop user logs in to their account.
  • To share a dashboard with a non-ExtraHop user, you can create a PDF file of the dashboard. If you have a Command appliance, you can create a scheduled report, which sends the PDF file of the dashboard to any email recipient on a regular basis.
  1. Log into the Web UI on the Discover or Command appliance and then click Dashboards at the top of the page.
  2. In the left pane, select a dashboard you want to share.
    You cannot share system dashboards or dashboards that you do not have edit access to.
  3. Click the command menu in the upper right corner of the dashboard page and select Share.
  4. Grant view or edit access by making one of the following selections:
    Type of Access Selection
    All ExtraHop users can view Select All users and groups can view; only specified users and groups.
    All ExtraHop users can view and only specific users can edit
    1. Select All users and groups can view; only specified users and groups.
    2. In the Specify users and groups field, type the name of a user or group, and then select the name from the drop-down list.
    3. Next to the name, select Can edit and click Add User or Add User Group.
    Only select ExtraHop users can view
    1. Select Only specified users or groups can view or edit.
    2. In the Specify users and groups field, type the name of a user or group, and then select the name from the drop-down list.
    3. Next to the name, select Can view and click Add User or Add User Group.
    Only select ExtraHop users can both view and edit
    1. Select Only specified users or groups can view or edit.
    2. In the Specify users and groups field, type the name of a user or group, and select the name from the drop-down list.
    3. Next to the name, select Can edit and click Add User or Add User Group.
    No ExtraHop users can view or edit (private dashboard) Your custom dashboard is set to private by default. If you shared your dashboard and then want to make it private again, select Only specified users or groups can view or edit and remove access.
  5. Click Save.
    Note:How a user interacts with a dashboard and the information they can view in the ExtraHop system is determined by user privileges, which are assigned by the ExtraHop administrator. For more information, see the User privileges section in the ExtraHop Admin UI Guide.
    If you shared your dashboard, a small gray icon will appear next to your dashboard in the dock.

Remove access to a dashboard

You can remove or modify dashboard access that you granted to users and groups.

  1. In the left pane, select the custom dashboard that you want to modify.
  2. Click the command menu in the upper right corner of the page and select Share.
  3. Remove access for users or groups by completing one of the following steps:
    • Remove all access for a user or group by clicking the red delete (x) icon next to the user or group name.
    • Remove edit access by selecting Can view from the drop-down list next to the user or group name.
  4. Click Save.
Published 2018-08-13 16:04