Adding and removing nodes from a cluster with master nodes

Add data-only nodes to a cluster with master nodes

If you want to increase the capacity of your Explore cluster, you can add more data-only nodes. After deploying the new node, you must modify the Running Config to designate the node role before adding the new node to the existing cluster.

Additional data-only nodes must match the specifications of the existing data-only nodes in the Explore cluster.

Before you begin

  • Deploy the new data-only nodes according to the guide for your implementation, but do not join the nodes to the cluster.
  • Register each data node with the correct product license.
  1. Log in to the Administration settings on the new data node through https://<extrahop-hostname-or-IP-address>/admin.
  2. In the Appliance Settings section, click Running Config.
  3. Click Edit config.
  4. Add an entry to the Running Config file by completing the following steps:
    1. Add a comma after the second to last curly brace (}).
    2. Press ENTER to create a new line.
    3. Paste the following code on the new line before the final curly brace:
      "cluster": {
              "master": false,
              "min_master_nodes": 2
          }
  5. Click Update.
  6. Click Done.
  7. Click Save config and then click Save.
  8. In the Appliance Settings section, click Shutdown or Restart.
  9. Next to the Search service, click Restart.
  10. Repeat these steps on each data-only node.
  11. Join the new nodes to the existing cluster.

Remove a node from a cluster with master nodes

Complete the following steps to remove a node from an Explore cluster.

  1. Log in to the Administration settings on the node you want to remove.
  2. In the Explore Cluster Settings section, click Cluster Members.
  3. Review the node role at the top of the page.
    1. Data-only nodes can be removed as needed.
    2. A single master-only node can be temporarily removed, but if you want to remove multiple master-only nodes, contact ExtraHop Support for help.
  4. In the Actions column, click Leave Explore Cluster next to the node that you are currently logged in to, and then click OK.
Published 2020-12-04 17:03