Share a dashboard
By default, all custom dashboards you create are private, which means that no ExtraHop users can view or edit your dashboard. However, you can share your dashboard by granting view or edit access to other ExtraHop users and groups.
Here are some importance considerations about sharing dashboards:
- How a user interacts with a shared dashboard and the information they can view in the ExtraHop system is determined by user privileges. For example, you can add a user with the Restricted read-only privilege, which allows that user to only view the dashboards that you share with them in the ExtraHop system. For more information, see the User privileges section in the ExtraHop Administrators Guide.
- When you grant a user edit permission, that user can modify and share the dashboard with others, and add it to a collection. However, other users cannot delete the dashboard. Only the dashboard owner can delete a dashboard.
- Group information is imported into the ExtraHop system from LDAP (such as OpenLDAP or Active Directory). User information is available after an ExtraHop user logs in to their account.
- To share a dashboard with a non-ExtraHop user, you can create a PDF file of the dashboard.
- You can create a scheduled report, which sends the PDF file of the dashboard to any email recipient on a regular basis. (Command appliances and Reveal(x) 360 only.)
- Log in to the ExtraHop system through https://<extrahop-hostname-or-IP-address>.
- At the top of the page, click Dashboards.
In the left pane, select a dashboard you want to share.
You cannot share system dashboards or dashboards that you do not have edit access to.
- Click the command menu in the upper right corner of the dashboard page and select Share.
- To grant view permission to every user, select Allow all users to view this dashboard.
To grant view or edit permission to specified users and groups, complete the
- Type the name of a user or group, and then select the name from the drop-down list.
- Next to the name, select Can view or select Can edit.
If you shared your dashboard, a small gray icon will appear next to your dashboard in the dock.
Remove access to a dashboard
You can remove or modify dashboard access that you granted to users and groups.
- In the left pane, select the custom dashboard that you want to modify.
- Click the command menu in the upper right corner of the page and select Share.
Remove access for users or groups by completing one of the following
- Remove all access for a user or group by clicking the red delete (x) icon next to the user or group name.
- Remove edit access by selecting Can view from the drop-down list next to the user or group name.
- Click Save.
Thank you for your feedback. Can we contact you to ask follow up questions?