Manage imported LDAP user groups

After you have imported your LDAP user groups, you can view and manage those groups on the User Groups page. The following topics provide information about how to enable, view, reset, and refresh the user groups imported to your ExtraHop appliance.

View the members of a user group

The Member List page provides controls to view the members in a user group that are imported from a configured LDAP server. You can also reset, disable, and refresh the user group from within the Member List page.

  1. In the Access Settings section, click User Groups.
  2. Click the group name in the user groups list.
    Tip:You can find user groups quickly by typing a name in the Filter user groups field. You can also sort the user group list by clicking on a column title.
    The member list displays the full name, login ID, and enabled or disabled status of the members who have logged into the appliance and whose group is associated with a shared dashboard. Clicking on the full name of the member whose privileges are managed locally redirects you to the Admin > Users > Edit User page for that user. Users whose permissions are managed by the remote LDAP server are greyed out in the member list and cannot be clicked.
    Note:If a user belongs to a group, and that group is a member of a parent group (nested group) that is associated with a dashboard, then the user appears in the member list of the parent group. If a dashboard is shared with the child group, the user will also appear in the member list of the child group.

Enable or disable a user group

You can share custom dashboards with a remote user group so that every member of the group can view the associated dashboard. If a user group is disabled, no group member can view the associated dashboard, even if the dashboard is still shared with the group.

Tip:Select more than one user group to enable or disable multiple groups at one time.
  1. In the Access Settings section, click User Groups.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the name in the group list and click one of the following:
    • To enable a user group, click Enable User Group.
    • To disable a user group, click Disable User Group.

Reset a user group

When you reset a user group, all shared dashboard associations are removed from the group. If the group no longer exists on the remote LDAP server, the group is removed from the user group list.

Tip:Select more than one user group to reset multiple groups at one time.
  1. In the Access Settings section, click User Groups.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the group name in the list.
  3. Click Reset User Group.
  4. Click Yes to confirm the reset action.

Refresh users and user groups

You can manually refresh LDAP user groups (or all users within a specific group) to ensure that the users and groups are synchronized with the users and groups on the LDAP server.

Tip:Select more than one user group to refresh multiple users at one time.
  1. In the Access Settings section, click User Groups.
  2. Choose one of the following options:
    • To refresh all user groups, click Refresh All User Groups.
    • To refresh users in a user group, select the checkbox next to the group name and then click Refresh Users in Group.
Published 2018-11-20 22:00