Share a dashboard with a restricted user

ExtraHop Dashboards are a powerful way to visualize your network activity, but you might need to share information with someone who does not (and should not) have access to all of your data. By creating a user account with restricted read-only privileges, you can provide limited access to only the metrics you want to share.

Before you begin

  • You must have access to the Admin UI of the Discover or Command appliance.
  • You must have edit access to the dashboard you want to share. (System dashboards cannot be shared with restricted read-only users.).

Create a restricted read-only user account

  1. Log into the Admin UI of the Discover or Command appliance that has the dashboards you want to share.
  2. In the Access Settings section, click Users.
  3. Click Add User.
  4. In the Personal Information section, complete the information about your new user.
  5. In the User Privileges section, click Restricted read-only privileges.
  6. Click Save.

Share your dashboard with the restricted read-only user

  1. Log into the Web UI of the Discover or Command appliance. (You can click the appliance logo in the top-left section of the page to quickly return to the Web UI.)
  2. Click Dashboards at the top of the page.
  3. In the left pane, select the dashboard that you want to share.
  4. Click the command menu (icon) in the upper-right corner of the dashboard page, and then select Share.
  5. Select Only specified users or groups can view or edit.
  6. In the Specify users and groups field, type the name of your new user, and then select the user name from the drop-down list.
  7. From the drop-down list, select Can view.
  8. Click Add User.
  9. Click Save.
The restricted read-only user can now log into the ExtraHop Discover appliance and view only the dashboard you have shared with them.
Published 2018-07-18 18:18